How I Made Princess Poppy and Branch from Trolls Sugar Cookies

UPDATE: MY PAGE HAS MOVED. PLEASE CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS POST AT MY NEW AND UPDATED WEBSITE!

Has anyone seen that little movie called Trolls? As a mom of two small kids, I see most animated movies. 😉

Recently, I saw Trolls. And ever since watching it, as strange as this sounds… I was daydreaming about turning Poppy into  cookie. My husband thinks I’m crazy, and I’m willing to admit that this may be a possibility.
I decided to make Princess Poppy and Branch. Of course, I do not have Poppy or Branch  cookie cutters,  so I had to make my own.

I simply Googled Poppy and Branch outlines and then printed them off and cut the shapes out.

I placed the shapes on my rolled out sugar cookie dough and traced around them with a toothpick. In the past, I had traced around a shape with a decorating marker… But I would not recommend this as the marker is seen along the edges of your cookie. A toothpick is perfect.

Next, I cut along the lines I traced with a paring knife and gently pulled the dough away from the shapes. Then, put them on your parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake!

After the cookies completely cool, it’s time to decorate! This is the part that gets me all giddy! 😁

The first thing I did was Princess Poppy’s green headband. Once I had all the Poppy cookies with their headbands, I moved on to filling in her hair, and then her face. Just allowing each portion the time to crust so the colors won’t bleed is sufficient.  I used flood icing, about 10 second consistency.

I waited a few hours and then moved onto the details of Poppy’s headband. I kept it very simple, using roughly 20 second consistency icing or so, to make lines for the leaves. Once that crusted, I made the flower petals, again, very simple as seen from the photos. 😉

Next, I outlined Poppys hair and I decorated her face. I would suggest using probably around 25-30 consistency icing for this.

For the eyes, I used white royal icing and once that dried, I drew the pupils and eyelashes on with a black decorating marker.

I’m pretty happy with how they turned out.And my boys were VERY excited! But as with anything you try for the first time, you learn what you’d like to do differently and how you could make it better for next time. I’m looking forward to my next crack at these cookies! :mrgreen:

One thought on “How I Made Princess Poppy and Branch from Trolls Sugar Cookies

  1. This is amazing! My niece is turning 6 in 2 weeks and sprung on me that she would like both troll cookies and moana cookies… I can’t really find many cookie cutters in these shapes…. I wasn’t sure I would have the patience to try to do it freehand… this is a wonderful way! Your cookies are gorgeous!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment